Embrace Your Inner Weirdo: “The First Bad Man” by Miranda July

“I’m not really going to beat around the bush with this one: Miranda July is weird as hell”

Sounds about right! Next I will be diving into the book of short stories, No One Belongs Here More Than You.

Mel&Del

I’m not really going to beat around the bush with this one: Miranda July is weird as hell.

I mean:

miranda july

But it’s exactly why I love her. Somehow she writes about uncomfortable situations involving totally bizarre, lonely characters — and it eventually becomes 100 percent relatable on a very deep, emotional level. And I’m surprised every time: She is not only weird as hell, she is funny as hell. Through her writings, interactive art projects and films, she helps us discover and fully embrace our own hidden eccentricities.

It’s pretty cathartic.

The First Bad Man is July’s first novel. Back in 2008, I devoured her book of short stories, No One Belongs Here More Than You. The basic theme throughout the book from what I can remember: Lost souls hungry for connection. Here is my favorite excerpt from the story “The Shared Patio.”

If you are sad, ask yourself why…

View original post 615 more words

Leave a Reply

