Library on the Go

My library at home has hundreds of books (I am one of the lucky ones!) but what happens when I leave?

(I mean this is totally what my library looks like at home:

(This is the library of Professor Richard Macksey)

Well, usually I only go with about ten books that I want to read and compile so many more while I am in a different place. Like right now I have moved temporarily for business, what is in my library here?

  • The House of the Spirits, by Isabel Allende
  • Cosmicomics, by Italo Calvino
  • Murder on the Links, by Agatha Christie
  • the Illustrated Man, by Ray Bradbury
  • Unfinished Portrait, by Mary Westmacott (Agatha Christie)
  • The Man in the Brown Shirt, Agatha Christie
  • Selected Poems of Ezra Pound
  • Humboldt’s Gift, by Saul Bellow
  • Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut
  • Daniel Deronda, by George Eliot
  • The Door, by Magda Szabó
  • The Water is Wide, by Pat Conroy
  • Bartleby / Benito Cereno, by Herman Melville
  • The Cave, by Jose Saramago
  • Pudd’nhead Wilson, by Mark Twain
  • The Woman Warrior, by Maxine Kingston
  • All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr
  • A Word Child, by Iris Murdoch
  • Gabriel García Marquez, a Life by Gerald Martin
  • Collected Poems of James Merrill
  • Beloved, by Toni Morrison
  • Crabwalk, by Günter Grass
  • The Tin Drum, by Günter Grass
  • Murder in the Cathedral, by T.S. Eliot
  • Where I’m Calling From, by Raymond Carver
  • Black Fly Season, by Giles Blunt
  • If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler, by Italo Calvino
  • Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, by Edward Albee
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God, by Zora Neale Hurston
  • Difficult Loves, by Italo Calvino
  • My Struggle (1), by Karl Ove Knausgaard
  • The Captain’s Verse, by Pablo Neruda
  • A Farewell to Arms, by Ernest Hemingway
  • Middlemarch, by George Eliot
  • The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas, by Gertrude Stein

Some old friends, some new, but all big names. I wish I got into the point of literature where the books that I am reading stopped seeming cliché, but then I realize that there are so many novels out there, that everything that I will read will seem, eventually, cliché.

3 thoughts on “Library on the Go

  1. Hey Sam! This is a really interesting point, because those lists DOMINATED my childhood, I wanted to read ALL of the books on every list.

    But, there is something important to say about finding literature that you enjoy. For example, I loved the novel Little Women, when I was growing up but always didn’t click with Pride and Prejudice (I know, I am sorry). So it really depends on what you like, those books are great, yes, but there are MILLIONS of great books out there, more than you will ever read, so if you are looking for something great to use, I think those lists are great, but not to go book to book from.

    Thanks for reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

